thefoodiegifthunter.co.uk

Great gift ideas for fabulous foodies

thefoodiegifthunter.co.uk header image 2

The Friday Five – If you liked this…

January 11th, 2013 · 2 Comments · Cookbooks, Foodie gifts, Friday Five

Another year over, 52 weeks of cookbooks featured. And it’s always interesting to see which ones pique people’s interest. So for this week I am going to look at the ones that seemed to be most popular last year, and see what might be similarly interesting but different. No real skill to this, just other books on a theme that appeal to me. Here goes:

 

Sweet Tooth

 

Lily Vanilli’s Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery – this is my alternative to Short & Sweet, which was the most popular book I featured last year. Not that I consider Dan’s book for beginners, but I would say this book is a move on, and probably means you are already familiar with techniques outlined. The recipes sound delicious, and worth the effort though. Perhaps something to break out for special occasions.

 

where chefs eat

 

Where Chefs Eat: A Guide To Chef’s Favourite Restaurants – the second most popular book was Come On In, We’re Closed, about staff meals in restaurants. Where Chef’s Eat is a pretty new book, with some excerpts featured in the newspapers over the last few weeks. It’s also a stunning looking book that caught my eye in Waterstones last week. This is book with global coverage, so breadth if not depth, but definitely makes for fascinating reading, particularly if you’re a little nosy/curious!

 

Food of Morocco

 

The Food of Morocco – I know I only just featured this one, but Maggie’s Harvest was also very popular, and this is the most beautiful cookbook I’ve seen so far this year. Of course it doesn’t have the incredible embroidered cover that Maggie’s Harvest does, but it’s a large format book with incredible photography and great recipes. I would also say like Maggie’s Harvest it’s probably not one you would buy for yourself but would make a great gift.

 

Friends at my table

 

Friends at my Table: A Year of Eating, Drinking and Making Merry – the title appeals massively to me, and perhaps given the popularity of Supper Club: Recipes and Notes from the Underground Restaurant by Kerstin Rodgers this is a move on. Perhaps we are not going to entertain strangers, but those we know and love this year. Perhaps it’s not cooking to show off (not implying that’s what all supper club owners are doing) but just to spread the love around. I think this one is almost definitely my end of January purchase.

 

Dining with the Doctor

 

Dining with the Doctor: The Unauthorized Whovian Cookbook – this one comes from two books that got people interested last year. First was Steamdrunks, an alternative view on cocktails, but no less delicious. The second was something a little more daft, tounge in cheek and rather kitsch, namely The Dead Celebrity Cookbook Presents Christmas in Tinseltown: Celebrity Recipes and Memories from Six Feet Under the Mistletoe. Not the snappiest title I’ve featured, but if you want to give an unusual cookbook, or have a real Doctor Who fan, perhaps this is a great gift that they won’t have seen before.

So, these are my variations on a theme, and be interesting to see what proves to be popular this year. I have a feeling there might be more focus on frugal eating, and leftovers, given that things are not improving that quickly. Or will the cookbook be a route to escape? Who knows?

 

Tags: ·

2 Comments so far ↓

  • Quentin A. Obrien

    Gwyneth needs little introduction. But perhaps you haven’t checked out her cookbook Notes From My Kitchen Table yet? With a breezy and generous spirit, similar to the vibe of her site Goop , she shares 150 of her favourite recipes, how she involves her kids in cooking, and balances healthy food with homemade treats.

  • EditorFood

    True, I haven’t looked at it, as doesn’t really appeal to me. Maybe it’s time to revisit my celeb cookbook feature, there were some corkers last time.

Leave a Comment

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.